What Happened to Honesty is the Best Policy?

James Altucher is probably my favorite blogger right now.  He speaks truth like I have never seen before, truth that bleeds.  He’s one of those guys that is wealthy enough and has lied enough and has done everything enough that there is nothing left to hide, nothing left but the truth.  His top post is on that very topic of honesty and can be found here.   Basically, he details what happens when you dig down deep inside and witness and observe.  I’ve been doing some of these same obsevations and thought I’d put together my own small list of what happens in my experience when I am more honest with myself and the people around me.

We can all handle the truth, but maybe our egos can’t.

Truths I’ve come to know (note this is just a small bullet point list – more to come):

1. I am and have been controlled by my ego my entire life.  Parts of me are spitting images of Pavlov’s Dog.

2. Of all the knowledge that exists (and maybe doesn’t exist) in this world and beyond, I know virtually nothing, and I’m ok with that.

3. It’s ok to have emotions (even for a guy).  Being a witness to those emotions instead of being a slave to them is extremely liberating.

4. Understanding human desires and motivations will help you along your path, no matter which direction you take

So, What has happened/happening since I started being more honest:

1. I’m taking the risk of alienating people and more specifically friends and family.  Speaking your own truth instead of somebody else’s truth can be greatly offensive (specifically, this is offensive to their ego, not to the true individual).

2. I meet more people that seem to be genuinely happy instead of that false happiness we might all be able to identify with

3. I am seeking even more truth.  It’s like it has a rabbit hole effect – once you start chasing that fluffy little tail, there’s no going back.

This is what taking the pill looks like

4. I’m finding a spirituality within myself that I never knew existed.

The bottom line is that there is both upside and downside to being truthful.  It’s tough. Really tough.  And I’m not suggesting that one should be a constant stream of truthfulness without a filter either (like I could tell you that I am writing this post while screaming a series of “oooooohs” in Phantogram’s ‘When I’m Small’ song that I can’t seem to get out of my head), of course there should be some judiciousness involved.   But just being a little more aware of your inner truth will be life changing, that I can guarantee you.

What does it feel like to be truly free??

Leave a Reply

thaibnb

realize property value

Nature Yoga

pose the question

No Denials: Insight to an Improvisor

Journal of growth from beginnings of improv to the end...

livinginyogadise

Love, Life, Travel & Yoga

Free Culture News

An occasional update with light commentary

Desultory Thoughts and Ideas

Musings of a newbie pescetarian and foodie

ActionJoJo

Participation. Observation. Inspiration.

Tomasz Goetel

Expert Yoga Teacher & Jolly Good Fellow

Liberty Blitzkrieg

The only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion. - Albert Camus

plura Financial Blog

blog for plurafinancial.com, an online matchmaker between banks & small businesses

The Reluctant Yogi

yoga-themed curios

Life & relationship coach

maria Alejandra Hernandez

